Piccadilly Publishing



by LEN LEVINSON originally written as GORDON DAVIS

The series consist of 9 books over a 3-year period beginning in 1980. Mahoney, we learn, has often been promoted and busted in his long career. During the period of the Novels, May 1944 to December 1944, Mahoney is a Master Sergeant, that serves in special missions with the Rangers, and as a Company Sergeant, Platoon Leader, and Squad Leader in the "Hammerhead" Division. Mahoney, with his always present side-kick, Corporal Edward Cranepool, become involved in several of the key battles for the liberation of France, and invasion of Germany. Mahoney, as a US Army Ranger aides the French Resistance before, during, and immediately after the June 6, 1944 D-Day invasions of France. Later, tired of always finding himself involved in "suicide" missions, Mahoney and Cranepool transfer to the "Hamerhead" Division in General George S Patton's 3rd Army. With the Hammerheads, Mahoney participates in the battles of the hedgerows after the Normandy invasions, the liberation of Paris, the crossing of the Moselle and battle for Metz, and the defense of Bastogne.

In the first book in the series, Death Train, which takes place in the summer of 1944, Mahoney is a US Army Ranger working behind German lines with the French Resistance, "maquis", to disrupt a rail-road line that will be essential to German troop and supply movement after the D-Day invasion on Omaha Beach. The book establishes Mahoney as a tough, career Army, individual, and an experienced combat veteran that had seen action since the initial US amphibious landings in 1942 at Morocco.

The series ends with Book 9, Hammerhead, circa late December 1944. Mahoney, disgusted by all the death he has seen, and killing he has done, is praying in a small Catholic church. Facing the altar, with his back to the church, he is nearly killed, before two of his arch enemies end up shooting each other. After determining that one of the men has died and the other likely did as well, Mahoney returns to his prayer. Sadly, this is the last book in the series and we do not learn any more of Mahoney, or Cranepool, after this.

Part One of Virtual Pulp's interveiw with Len Part Two Here
Virtual Pulp's take on The Sergeant during the Invasion
Virtual Pulp on Death Train
Hell Harbor by Len Levinson Hell Harbor by Len Levinson Bloody Bush by Len Levinson The Liberation of Paris by Len Levinson Doom River by Len Levinson Slaughter City by Len Levinson Bullet Bridge by Len Levinson Bloody Bastogne by Len Levinson Hammerhead by Len Levinson


4 Star review from Amazon.com
"The Sergeant series is a guilty pleasure, and the cold brutality of the protagonist is perfectly acceptable to most readers because he has been unleashed against the Germans during Hitler's reign. Gordon Davis (a pseudonym of Len Levinson, from what I read) had a lot of fun writing this series, I suspect. And we can have a lot of fun reading it. Like a steam locomotive, The Sergeant lurches to a jerky start, but is firing on all cylinders a few books into the series."

Purchase from these Retailers

Amazon US Amazon UK Barnes &  Noble Kobo Smashwords

Click on the covers for more details or to purchase from Retailers

facebook twitter pinterest